top of page
  • Scarlett Demy

7 Levels of Bliss

The fundamental nature of true reality is bliss. True bliss (ānanda) is abiding and lasting. The search for pleasure is a search for the true Self state of Bliss. While material pleasures are fleeting, a presence of consciousness in a moment of pleasure can allow one the awareness of the true Self state from which she came.

The Tantraloka of Abhinava Gupta lists seven levels of bliss:

1. Nija ānanda - innate bliss, the realization of Self as totally separate from the objective reality due to the realization of shūnya (emptiness) at the heart.

2. Nirānanda - trans bliss, arises when focused at the external reality as the prana ascends to the center of the crown.

3. Para ānanda - supreme bliss, realizing the Self contains all infinity within (indivisible objects), apana descends from the crown to the heart.

4. Brahma ānanda - Brahmic bliss, totality of objects exist within. Life force is in samāna form at the heart.

5. Mahā ānanda - great bliss, realizing the Self transcends all objective forms, life force is udāna in the central channel.

6. Cid ānanda - Consciousness bliss, realization of the self as subject and object, udāna life force converts to vyāna.

7. Jagad ānanda - world bliss, realization of the Self as including everything within and without. The highest enlightenment.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Law of Polarity says that everything can be separated into two wholly opposite parts, and each of those still contains the potentiality of the other. Quantum physicists refer to a “wave nature of

Each sucks the nectar from the other’s lips, breathing lightly, lightly. In those willowy hips the passion beats; the mocking eyes, bright like stars. The tiny drops of sweat are like a hundred fragra

Shiva is the exalted male principle, the silent unmanifest and counterpart to Shakti -dynamic manifestation. Lingam means mark, sign, emblem or characteristic. While many view the Shiva Lingam as a ph

bottom of page